Five Tigers and Ten Wolves

  • ਪੰਚ ਸਿੰਘ ਰਾਖੇ ਪ੍ਰਭਿ ਮਾਰਿ ॥ ਦਸ ਬਿਘਿਆੜੀ ਲਈ ਨਿਵਾਰਿ ॥ ਤੀਨਿ ਆਵਰਤ ਕੀ ਚੂਕੀ ਘੇਰ ॥ ਸਾਧਸੰਗਿ ਚੂਕੇ ਭੈ ਫੇਰ ॥੧॥ ਸਿਮਰਿ ਸਿਮਰਿ ਜੀਵਾ ਗੋਵਿੰਦ ॥ ਕਰਿ ਕਿਰਪਾ ਰਾਖਿਓ ਦਾਸੁ ਅਪਨਾ ਸਦਾ ਸਦਾ ਸਾਚਾ ਬਖਸਿੰਦ ॥੧॥ ਰਹਾਉ ॥: Panch singh raakhe prabh maar …: (As I remember God) God killed the five tigers (from within me). He has driven out the ten wolves (from within me as well). The three whirl-pools (i.e. three qualities of Maya) have (also) stopped spinning. In the Saadh Sangat, the Company of the Holy, the fear of reincarnation is (also) gone. ||1|| Meditating, meditating in remembrance on the Lord of the Universe, I live (spiritual Life – ਆਤਮਕ ਜੀਵਨ). In His Mercy, He protects His Daas (from evil passions); the Eternal True Lord is the ever Forgiver. ||1||Pause|| (sggs 898). 

ਪੰਚ ਸਿੰਘ (Panch Singh) = ਪੰਚ = 5 and ਸਿੰਘ= lions

These “five lions ” are the powerful passions – lust, anger, greed, attachment, and pride.

These “5” are also called by various other names such as “Panch Chor”, “Panch Janaa”, “Panj Doot”, “Panj Mahaabalee”, “Panch Sikadaar”, “Panj Dusat”, “Panch Sakhee”, “Panch panihaaree”, five evils, five thieves, evil passions, and so on.

These are man’s inner garbage.

These “five” also have their numerous variations that include all mental impurities such as enviousness, stubborn mindedness, selfishness, deception, wickedness, corruption, bigotry, hatred, insecurity, desires and fears, discontentment, intolerance, revenge, unforgiveness, unhappiness, and so on.

These are the negative pulls of human nature, very powerful and destructive indeed.

ਦਸ ਬਿਘਿਆੜੀ = Das Bighiaaree = ten wolves (ਦਸ = ten and ਬਿਘਿਆੜੀ = she-wolves).

These ten wolves are man’s ten sense (ਇੰਦ੍ਰੀਆਂ Indriyas). Eyes, years, nose, tongue (mouth), and skin makes five senses of acquiring knowledge (Giaan Indriyas). Similarly, the genital, anus, voice (mouth), and hands and legs make five senses of action or work (Karma Indriyas).

If not checked and controlled, they all bring the Jeeva (individual being) down to the animal nature.

In the foregoing verses, the Gurbani tells us that by constantly remembering God (living the Divine or Gurmukh Life), one can control all his passions and senses.

The Gurbani asks us to make the ten senses “widow”!

How can one go about making his senses “widow”? What does it really mean?

Upon death of the husband, his wife becomes widow. Mind is the “husband” and the ten senses are its “wives”. To make all senses “widow”, the mind must die (killed, annihilated or conquered…)! This is why the Gurbani urges Spiritual aspirants to constantly “struggle” with their instinctive mind, and keep it engaged in Simran (meditation) so that the mind develops a taste for Spiritual Life.

  • ਦਸ ਨਾਰੀ ਮੈ ਕਰੀ ਦੁਹਾਗਨਿ ॥ ਗੁਰਿ ਕਹਿਆ ਏਹ ਰਸਹਿ ਬਿਖਾਗਨਿ ॥ ਇਨ ਸਨਬੰਧੀ ਰਸਾਤਲਿ ਜਾਇ ॥ ਹਮ ਗੁਰਿ ਰਾਖੇ ਹਰਿ ਲਿਵ ਲਾਇ ॥੫॥: Das naaree mai karee duhagan …: I have made widows of the ten sensory organs (I don’t engage in sense-gratification anymore). The Guru has told me that pleasures (of the senses or sense-gratifications) are the fires (that bring death to the spiritual life: ਆਤਮਕ ਮੌਤ). Those who associate with them go to hell (fall into lower region of consciousness or spiritual death – ਆਤਮਕ ਮੌਤ). The Guru has saved me (from the sense pleasrues) by attuning me to God ||5|| (sggs 1347).

Share Your Thoughts - Vichar

Your email address will not be published. * = required. Comment Policy.